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TABLE 10.	� Medicaid Income Eligibility Levels as a Percentage of the Federal Poverty Level for Non-Aged, Non-Disabled, Non-Pregnant 
Adults by State, January 2014

States are required to provide Medicaid coverage for parents (and their dependent children), at a minimum, at their 1996 Aid to Families with Dependent 
Children eligibility levels. Under regular Medicaid state plan rules, states may opt to cover additional parents (via Section 1931 of the Social Security 
Act) and other adults under age 65 who are not pregnant, not eligible for Medicare, and have incomes at or below 138 percent of the federal poverty 
level (via Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) of the Social Security Act). States may also provide coverage under Section 1115 waivers, which allow them 
to operate their Medicaid programs without regard to certain statutory requirements. As noted in this table, the covered benefits under these waivers 
may be more limited than those provided under regular state plan rules and may not be available to all individuals at the income levels shown.

State
Parents of  

Dependent Children1 Other Adults2 Medicaid Expansion State3

Alabama 18% – No
Alaska 136 –4 No
Arizona 138 138% Yes
Arkansas 138 138 Yes
California 138 138 Yes
Colorado 138 138 Yes
Connecticut 201 138 Yes
Delaware 138 138 Yes
District of Columbia 221 215 Yes
Florida 36 –4 No
Georgia 41 – No
Hawaii 138 138 Yes
Idaho 295 –6 No
Illinois 138 138 Yes
Indiana 255 –6 No
Iowa 138 138 Yes
Kansas 38 – No
Kentucky 138 138 Yes
Louisiana 245 –6 No
Maine 105 –4, 6 No
Maryland 138 138 Yes
Massachusetts 138 1384 Yes
Michigan 138 138 Yes7

Minnesota 205 205 Yes
Mississippi 29 – No
Missouri 245 –6 No
Montana 53 –6 No
Nebraska 64 – No
Nevada 138 138 Yes
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TABLE 10, Continued

State
Parents of  

Dependent Children1 Other Adults2 Medicaid Expansion State3

New Hampshire 75% – No
New Jersey 138 138% Yes
New Mexico 138 138 Yes
New York 138 1384 Yes
North Carolina 51 –4 No
North Dakota 138 138 Yes
Ohio 138 138 Yes
Oklahoma 485 –6 No
Oregon 138 138 Yes
Pennsylvania 38 –4 No
Rhode Island 138 138 Yes
South Carolina 67 – No
South Dakota 64 – No
Tennessee 111 – No
Texas 20 – No
Utah 565 –6 No
Vermont 138 138 Yes
Virginia 54 – No
Washington 138 138 Yes
West Virginia 138 138 Yes
Wisconsin 955 100 No
Wyoming 62 – No

Notes: In 2014, 100 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) in the lower 48 states and the District of Columbia is $11,670 for an individual and $4,060 for each additional family member. For additional information, see MACStats 
Table 19. When determining Medicaid and CHIP eligibility prior to 2014, states had the flexibility to disregard income sources and amounts of their choosing. Beginning in 2014, uniform modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) rules 
must be used to determine Medicaid and CHIP eligibility for most non-disabled children and adults under age 65, including the groups shown in this table. As a result, states are now required to use MAGI-converted eligibility levels 
that account for the change in income-counting rules. The eligibility levels shown in this table reflect these MAGI-converted levels plus a mandatory income disregard equal to 5 percent FPL that effectively raises eligibility levels 
by 5 percentage points. Under federal regulations, the 5 percent disregard applies to an individual’s determination of eligibility for Medicaid and CHIP overall, rather than for particular eligibility groups within Medicaid or CHIP. All 
information is based on state decisions as of February 26, 2014.
1	� In states that use dollar amounts rather than percentages of the FPL to determine eligibility for parents, those amounts were converted to a percent of the FPL for 2013, and the highest percentage was selected to reflect eligibility 

level for the group.
2	� Includes coverage under the new adult group (Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) of the Social Security Act) for individuals under age 65 who are not pregnant, not eligible for Medicare, and have incomes at or below 138 percent FPL.
3	� Medicaid expansion states are those that have opted to cover adults under Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) of the Social Security Act.
4	� The state covers some 19- and 20-year-olds at income levels not shown in the table: Alaska (129 percent FPL), Florida (31 percent FPL), Maine (156 percent FPL), Massachusetts (150 percent FPL), New York (150 percent 

FPL), North Carolina (46 percent FPL), and Pennsylvania (33 percent FPL).
5	� Reflects parent coverage under the Medicaid state plan. The state has some additional coverage above state plan eligibility standards through a Section 1115 demonstration or a pending demonstration proposal. The 

demonstration includes limitations on eligibility or benefits, is not offered to all residents of the state, or includes an enrollment cap.
6	� The state has a Section 1115 demonstration or a pending demonstration proposal that provides Medicaid coverage to some low-income adults. The demonstration includes limitations on eligibility or benefits, is not offered to all 

residents of the state, or includes an enrollment cap.
7	� Michigan has a Medicaid expansion as of April 1, 2014.
Source: MACPAC communication with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and MACPAC analysis of CMS, State Medicaid and CHIP income eligibility standards effective January 1, 2014 (For MAGI groups, based 
on state decisions as of February 26, 2014).
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