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Background



• States have several options to streamline enrollment into Medicaid 

home- and community-based services (HCBS) programs, including 

Section 1915 and 1115 demonstration authorities

• Eligibility flexibilities

– Presumptive eligibility

– Expedited eligibility

– Retroactive coverage

• Level of care (LOC) determination process

• Person-centered service plan (PCSP) process
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Components of Timely Access



Eligibility Process and Requirements for Individuals 

Seeking Medicaid HCBS

5Notes: HCBS is home- and community-based services. PCSP is person-centered service plan.

Source: 42 CFR 441.301, 441.303, 441.535, 441.540, 441.720, 441.725, 435.907, 435.916.



States’ Average Non-MAGI Application Processing Times, 

July 2022
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22
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1-14 days 15-30 days 31-60 days 61-90 days

Notes: MAGI is modified adjusted gross income. 

Data is from 44 states; in 7 states, average processing times were unknown.

Source: Musumeci et al. 2022.



Methods

• Contracted with The Lewin Group (Lewin) to conduct a comprehensive 

environmental scan of Section 1915 HCBS authorities, Section 1115 

demonstrations, and additional relevant resources 

– The scan captures state use of eligibility and other streamlining flexibilities, and how 

states administer LOC determinations and develop PCSPs

• The scan found that as of March 2024:

– Section 1915(c) waivers: 46 states and DC 

– Section 1115 demonstrations that cover some HCBS: 15 states

– Section 1915(i) state plan HCBS benefits: 16 states and DC

– Section 1915(k) Community First Choice program: 8 states

• States were sent the scan for review; 34 states responded
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Eligibility and Other Streamlining 

Flexibilities



• Allows individuals who have not yet been determined eligible for 
Medicaid to obtain Medicaid-covered services while completing the full 
Medicaid application process

• Presumptive eligibility period lasts for up to 60 days

• States can allow qualified entities, such as hospitals, to make a 
presumptive eligibility determination (42 CFR 435.1110)

• States have the option to allow hospital presumptive eligibility for non-
MAGI populations (42 CFR 435.1110(c))

• Providers furnishing HCBS during the period in which a beneficiary is 
presumptively eligible are reimbursed by Medicaid; however, services 
must be rendered after a plan of care is established
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Presumptive Eligibility



Presumptive Eligibility: Scan Results
• Nine states use presumptive eligibility for HCBS

• States use various mechanisms to implement presumptive eligibility:
– California, New Jersey, and Oklahoma used Section 7.4 Medicaid Disaster Relief state 

plan amendments (SPAs) to temporarily expand hospital presumptive eligibility to non-
MAGI populations 

– Washington and Vermont used Section 1115 demonstrations 

– Louisiana used a Section 1915(i) SPA 

– New Hampshire used an American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA, P.L. 117-2) spending plan 
to pilot the use of presumptive eligibility

– Michigan proposed a pilot on the use of presumptive eligibility in a state bill

– Ohio describes in its administrative code the use of presumptive eligibility for two 
different Section 1915(c) waiver populations. Ohio’s program is funded with state-only 
dollars.

10



Expedited Eligibility

• When an individual’s Medicaid application is processed in an 

accelerated manner for the purposes of making a Medicaid eligibility 

determination

– Also referred to as fast track eligibility

• States can accept self-attestation of information needed to 

determine Medicaid eligibility (42 CFR 435.945(a))

• There is no uniform definition of expedited eligibility
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Expedited Eligibility: Scan Results

• Four states currently use expedited eligibility for HCBS, one state is 

expanding a pilot, and one state is planning to use it in the future

– Four states (California, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana) use or plan to use it for both 

functional and financial eligibility 

– Rhode Island only allows for self-attestation of financial eligibility

– Hawaii’s policy, put in place during the COVID-19 public health emergency 

(PHE), allows for self-attestation of functional eligibility
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Retroactive Coverage
• States must provide three months of retroactive coverage (from 

when a Medicaid application was received) to any Medicaid enrollee 
if that individual received Medicaid-covered services prior to 
enrolling in the program but would have been eligible at the time 
those services were received (42 CFR 435.915)

• Due to the requirement that individuals have a care plan in place 
before receiving services, states are effectively not able to provide 
retroactive coverage for HCBS

• In Connecticut, providers can receive payment for certain behavioral 
health services delivered via Section 1915(c) and 1915(i) authorities 
up to 90 days prior to enrollment
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Other Streamlining Efforts

• Five states are engaging in additional efforts to streamline their 

eligibility processes, including efforts to automate systems and 

enhance No Wrong Door (NWD) activities. For example:

– Maine is developing a web-based referral form that allows consumers to self-

assess their needs, which will be automatically entered into data systems to 

begin provider-level referrals and pre-screen for eligibility

– Rhode Island is expanding NWD activities, including person-centered options 

counseling and outreach about HCBS programs to underserved racial and ethnic 

communities, updating business processes, and integrating IT systems
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Level of Care Determinations



Timeline Requirements

• States have timeline requirements for the eligibility determination 

process, both for conducting the functional assessment and for 

approving the LOC determination

• Conducting the functional assessment: 32 states have requirements 

for how long assessors can take to complete the functional 

assessment, with a range of 2 to 45 days

• Approving the LOC assessment: 17 states have timeframe 

requirements to approve a LOC assessment for at least one HCBS 

program in the state, with a range of 5 to 30 days

16



Assessment Methods: Entities Responsible for 

LOC Determinations
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Type of entity

Number of states1

Examples

Conducts 

assessment

Approves LOC 

determination

Medicaid agency 29 32 • Medicaid agency oversees entire process (such as programs in 

California, Iowa, Minnesota, Mississippi)

• Medicaid agency approves determination, but another entity conducts 

assessments (such as programs in Massachusetts, North Dakota)

Operating agency 23 20 Operating agencies such as: 

• Department of Mental Health (Alabama) 

• Department of Aging and Disability Services (Kansas)

• Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (Louisiana)

Government agency 

under contract with 

the Medicaid agency

21 5 • Case management agencies (Colorado, Ohio)

• Area agencies on aging (Ohio)

• Medical professionals employed by LOC entities (Massachusetts)

Other 32 22 • Managed care organizations (Arizona, Delaware)

• Quality improvement organizations (Montana)

• Contractors or medical professionals (Connecticut, District of Columbia)

Notes: LOC is level of care.
1 Includes all 50 states and DC. Individual states may be classified under multiple entity types. A state may be counted multiple times when one or more program 

within the state has implemented an approach. 



• Among the 19 states that allow virtual assessments, 15 used a 

temporary PHE modification and 10 made the policy permanent

Assessment Methods, cont.

18

Assessment method Number of states

In-person 48

Telephone and virtual 19

Record review 32



Reassessments

• States are required to reassess participants no less frequently than 

annually (42 CFR 435.916(b))

– States use tools or systems which prompt case managers of upcoming 

reassessment milestones

• Our scan found:

– All 50 states and DC have at least one program that uses the 12-month 

reassessment interval

– Six states use a six-month reassessment interval in select HCBS programs 

– Four states use alternative approaches for scheduling reassessments for one or 

more HCBS programs

19



Public Health Emergency Flexibilities

• During the PHE, CMS provided guidance to states on options to 

pursue temporary flexibilities related to the eligibility and service 

planning provisions of HCBS programs

• Forty states implemented at least one temporary flexibility related to 

HCBS LOC assessments. The two most common flexibilities were:

– extending due dates for reassessments for up to one year (27 states)

– allowing professionals to conduct assessments by telephone or virtually in 

addition to in-person (35 states)

• Our scan found that 10 states have made their LOC assessment 

policy changes permanent
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Person-Centered Service Plans



Person-Centered Service Planning Process
• PCSPs are designed to identify the individual’s goals and desired 

outcomes and reflect the services and supports that will assist them in 

achieving their goals

• Requirements include:

– The individual leads the process, where possible

– Includes people chosen by the individual

– Provides necessary information and support to ensure that the individual directs the 

process to the maximum extent possible and is enabled to make informed choices

– Is timely and occurs at times and locations convenient to the individual

– Reflects cultural considerations and is conducted by providing information in plain 

language and in a manner accessible to individuals with disabilities and persons with 

limited English proficiency

Source: 42 CFR 441.301(c), 441.540, 441.725.



Person-Centered Service Planning Process, cont.

• Requirements, continued:

– Includes strategies for solving conflict or disagreement, including clear conflict-of-

interest guidelines for all planning participants

– Offers informed choices to the individual regarding the services and supports 

they receive and from whom

– Includes a method for the individual to request updates to the plan as needed

– Records the alternative home and community-based settings that were 

considered

Source: 42 CFR 441.301(c), 441.540, 441.725.



Timeline Requirements: Scan Results

• 48 states have timeline requirements for development of the PCSP, 

with most states requiring completion within 30 to 45 days of 

enrollment

• Many states had consistent requirements across their HCBS 

programs

• In a few states, the case manager begins to develop the PCSP 

during the functional assessment meeting
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Timeline Requirements, cont.

• Most HCBS programs require PCSPs to be reviewed and updated 

every 12 months

• Most states also use the same frequency of review across all their 

HCBS programs

• Frequency of PCSP review

– 12 months: 48 states

– 6 months: 12 states

– 3 months: 4 states

– Other timeline: 10 states
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Assessment Methods

• PCSPs should be developed at times and locations convenient to 

the individual and should include any other individuals chosen by 

the participant (42 CFR 441.301(c)) 

• Assessment methods

– In-person: 49 states

– Telephone and virtual: 25 states

– Record review: 3 states
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Assessment Methods, cont.
• States frequently allow more than one type of professional to lead 

the PCSP development

• No federal requirement exists that medical professionals be 
responsible for PCSP development, but CMS sub-regulatory 
guidance states that their qualifications should be reflective of the 
nature of the program’s population 

• Type of professional
– Case manager: 46 states

– Licensed nurse: 23 states

– Licensed physician: 2 states

– Other: 35 states
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Provisional Plans of Care

• In order to expedite receipt of Section 1915(c) services, CMS allows 

for a provisional plan of care (also called an interim service plan) 

which identifies the essential Medicaid services that can be provided 

in the person’s first 60 days of waiver eligibility

• Provisional plans of care have been allowed since 2000, when they 

were described in a State Medicaid Director letter, known as 

Olmstead letter three, which was issued in response to the 1999 

Olmstead v. L.C. decision 

• Our scan found that 17 states allow provisional plans of care, across 

41 waiver programs
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Use of Electronic Signatures 

• Electronic signature (e-signature) can make signing documents a 

more efficient process, and their use has increased in recent years, 

especially since the PHE

• Medicaid HCBS programs can use e-signatures to collect an HCBS 

participant’s signature on the final PCSP following the service plan 

review meeting

• Our scan found that 33 states permit the use of e-signatures for 

PCSPs in one or more HCBS program
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Summary of Findings and Next Steps



Summary of Preliminary Findings

• 9 states use presumptive eligibility for non-MAGI populations 

– While there are some guidelines for how states can use presumptive eligibility, 

our scan found state differences by population and qualified entity, among other 

factors

• 6 states currently use or are planning to use expedited eligibility for 

non-MAGI populations 

– Little guidance exists on how states can apply expedited eligibility; we found 

variation in state approaches to self-attestation of eligibility criteria

• Due to the federal requirement that a plan of care be in place before 

receiving HCBS, states are essentially unable to provide retroactive 

coverage of HCBS
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Summary of Preliminary Findings, cont.
• States set separate timelines to conduct and approve LOC 

assessments; no federal requirements or guidance establish a 
timeline for either 

– 32 states have requirements for how long assessors can take to complete the 
functional assessment, with a range of 2 to 45 days

– 17 states have timeframe requirements to approve a LOC, with a range of 5 to 
30 days

– Two different entities may conduct and approve LOC assessments

• 47 states and DC reported LOC assessment methods
– all states offer in person options

– 19 allow telephonic or virtual options

– 32 use record review
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Summary of Preliminary Findings, cont.

• Individuals must have a PCSP in place before receiving HCBS. Most 

states require it be completed within 30 to 45 days of enrollment. 

• In order to expedite this process, states may allow a provisional plan 

of care for Section 1915(c) waiver services

– 17 states do so, across 41 waivers 

– No Section 1115 demonstrations or state plan options (i.e., Section 1915(i) and 

(k)) use provisional plans of care; it is unclear whether this is permitted

• Thirty-three states permit the use of e-signatures on PCSPs
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Next Steps

• Publish the environmental scan on MACPAC’s website

• Conduct stakeholder interviews and return in the fall to present over 

three Commission meetings on each of the three areas of focus:

– Eligibility and other streamlining flexibilities

– LOC determinations

– Person-centered planning processes

• During discussion, it would be helpful to staff for Commissioners to

raise any considerations applicable to these three topic areas
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