An official website of the United States Government -

GAO announces new slate of MACPAC commissioners

GAO Makes MACPAC Appointments

WASHINGTON, DC (December 19, 2014) – Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), today announced the appointment of six new members to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC) and the designation of the Commission’s new Vice Chair.

“In making today’s appointments, GAO was able to draw from an exceptionally strong group of candidates,” Dodaro said. “The six men and women chosen to serve on the Commission offer important professional credentials and experiences, and their perspectives should greatly benefit MACPAC in advising Congress on Medicaid and CHIP.”

The newly appointed members are Gustavo Cruz, DMD, MPH, Senior Advisor, Health Equity Initiative in New York, NY; Marsha Gold, ScD, Senior Fellow Emeritus at Mathematica Policy Research, Washington, DC; Yvette Long, parent of a Medicaid beneficiary and Case Manager, Philadelphia Welfare Rights Organization, Philadelphia, PA; Charles (Chuck) Milligan, JD, MPH, Senior Vice President, Enterprise Government Programs, Presbyterian Healthcare Services in Albuquerque, NM; Sheldon Retchin, MD, MSPH, recently selected to be the Chief Executive Officer of Wexner Medical Center, Ohio State University in Columbus, OH; and Peter Szilagyi, MD, MPH, Vice Chair for Research, Department of Pediatrics, University of California at Los Angeles.

In addition, Marsha Gold, ScD has been named the Commission’s Vice Chair.

The Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 established MACPAC to review Medicaid and CHIP access and payment policies and to advise Congress on issues affecting Medicaid and CHIP. The Act directs the Comptroller General to appoint MACPAC’s members.

Commissioners whose terms will expire in December 2015 are Diane Rowland, ScD, Executive Vice President, Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and Executive Director, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured; Donna Checkett, MPA, MSW, Vice President of Medicaid Business Development, Aetna; Patricia Gabow, MD (retired), previously Chief Executive Officer, Denver Health and Hospital Authority; Mark Hoyt, FSA, MAAA (retired), previously National Practice Leader of the Government Human Services Consulting Specialty Group, Mercer, LLC; Trish Riley, MS, incoming Executive Director of the National Academy of State Health Policy; and Steven Waldren, MD, MS, Director, Center for Health Information Technology, American Academy of Family Physicians.

Commissioners whose terms will expire in December 2016 are Sharon L. Carte, MS, Executive Director, West Virginia Children’s Health Insurance Program; Andrea Cohen, JD, Senior Vice President, United Hospital Fund; Herman Gray, MD, MBA, Chief Executive Officer, Children’s Hospital of Michigan and Vice President of Pediatric Health Services, Vanguard Health Systems; Norma Martinez Rogers, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor, Department of Family Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; and Sara Rosenbaum, JD, Chair, Department of Health Policy and Harold and Jane Hirsh Professor of Health Law and Policy, George Washington (GW) University School of Public Health, and Professor of Health Care Sciences, GW’s School of Medicine and Health Sciences.

For more information about MACPAC, contact Kathryn Ceja, MACPAC’s communications director, at (202) 350-2000. Other calls should be directed to Chuck Young in GAO’s Office of Public Affairs at (202) 512-4800.